The Dean’s Welcoming Address

герб філологічного факультету

Dear colleagues!

Welcome to the webpage of the Faculty of Philology of Ivan Franko National University of Lviv! Ukrainian philological science has its origins in the world’s first Department of Ukrainian Literature (1848, the first head was Yakiv Holovatsky).

Significant figures of the Lviv Scientific Philological School – Yakiv Holovatsky, Omelyan Ohonovsky, Filaret Kolessa, Mykhailo Vozniak, Ilarion Svientsitskyi, Ivan Kovalyk, Ivan Denysiuk.

In 2022, the Faculty of Philology consists of 133 teachers (23 Doctors of Sciences, professors, and 84 Candidates of Sciences, associate professors), 1,405 full-time and part-time students, 9 departments, 2 institutes (Institute of Ivan Franko Studies and Institute of Literary Studies), Laboratory of Folklore Research and Cabinet of Literature of the Ukrainian Diaspora named after Petro Goya.

Among the Faculty of Philology graduates, there are outstanding writers, scientists, artists, politicians, diplomats, human rights activists, editors of printed publications, education leaders, and those who through their daily teaching nurture the young generation of Ukrainians, promote respect for the native language and national culture.